http://ping.fm/p/BG9uP – Agora (2009):
By, Alejandro Amenbar

Set in Alexandria, Egypt. 391 A.D.

The World Changed Forever

Summary: “An allegory: fourth century Christians as Taliban. Alexandria, 391: Hypatia teaches astronomy, mathematics, and philosophy. Her student Orestes is in love with her as is Davus, her personal slave. As the city’s Christians, led by Ammonius and Cyril, gain political power, the great institutions of learning and governance may not survive. Jump ahead 20 years: Orestes, the city’s prefect, has an uneasy peace with Christians, led by Cyril. The Christians enforce public morality; first they see the Jews as their obstacle, then women. Hypatia has no interest in faith; she’s concerned about the movement of celestial bodies and the brotherhood of all. What place is there for her?”
-IMDB

My Review:
I really liked this movie. It was very well done despite some of the inaccuracies, but at the same time there is little proof to go on. A lot if the events have very different stories regarding them. Though one thing is sure, it depicts religion quite nicely. I suggest people watch this movie. If not for the retelling of an old story, then for the acting and great depiction of it all. Plus it has great scenery to go with and a bit of side boob and gore.

About Hakarune

Trying live life on my terms now I love to travel and have been to a lot of the US, and want to see the whole world and learn every language I can.... I love humor and sarcasm and use them both all the time, to the point where some people hate me for it, but as they say "Like Father Like Son." My dad is awesome and I love him, I missed not having him around when I was growing up, but now I'm making up for lost time. My dad is like my best friend and is like me, just older and not as hansom. Though I've been called worse than him cause I don't filter what I say (at all) and I'm blunt, honest, and speak exactly what I think as well as am a sarcastic ass to the point of occasionally offending people without meaning to, but that's life. Live it and get over it, and make the best of what time you got, don't sweat the small things. View all posts by Hakarune

One response to “

Leave a Reply

