WSU Application Responses

So tell me what you all think of my answers to their questionnaire, good or not good?


Leadership/group contributions: Describe examples of your leadership experience and share how you have significantly influenced others, helped resolve disputes, or contributed to group efforts over time. Consider responsibilities you have taken for initiatives in or out of school.

    [I with a friend started a club @ clark College. He and I shared joint leadership and it was a simple club that eventually died. Though some 2 years later I was approached by a man named Christoph who wished to restart the club and wanted my help and so I helped and took over as head of the club and got it back up and running and taught him everything I could about how to run a club. Later I finished my last class at Clark and said my farewell and today the club still thrives and people still pass on the knowledge I taught him back then.]

Knowledge or creativity in a field: Describe any of your special interests and how you have developed knowledge in these areas. Give examples of your creativity: the ability to see alternatives; take diverse perspectives; come up with many, varied, or original ideas; or willingness to try new things.

    [I have for a long time been interested in other countries, mostly in Japan. So in in 5th grade I started learning Japanese. I also checked out every book from the library on Japan. In 2000 I started HS and I continued in my pursuit of Japanese knowledge. I tried to apply to be in the Japanese Language prog at BGHS but it closed. I found out Clark offered classes so I did everything I could to join Clark early and take more Japanese classes and I to this day still wish to visit Japan and teach English abroad.]

Dealing with adversity: Describe the most significant challenge you have faced and the steps you have taken to address this challenge. Include whether you turned to anyone in facing that challenge, the role that person played, and what you learned about yourself.

    [In 2008 I decided I need to change my life.  I moved away to the East Coast. It didn’t work out. Bad job and no place to live, I ended up homeless and hitchhiking across the US. I made it back to Washington, but I was homeless. I eventually got help and place to stay from family. I have struggled to get jobs, but keep getting knocked down. The only thing I have dreamed to do for years is get my BA in English and travel to Japan to teach. FAFSA and WSU are my way there.]


Community service: Explain what you have done to make your community a better place to live. Give examples of specific projects in which you have been involved over time.

    [My favorite project I loved to work on all the time every year here in my home town was Kid’s Day America. Every year I used to help out with the event and setup then I would paint the smiling faces of the kids. But one day the event stopped and I don’t know why they stopped hosting an event here in town, but I plan to restart once I get back on my feet.]


Handling systemic challenges: Describe your experiences facing or witnessing discrimination. Tell us how you responded and what you learned from those experiences and how they prepared you to contribute to the WSU community.

    [Freshman year, it was lunch time on my first day, after getting my food I was my way to find my friends when I saw this girl sitting alone in the hallway. So I sat next to her, her name was Nami, she and I spent many a lunches together. She helped me relearn Japanese. HS was very racist and I got problems for being friends with her. She told me before she left that she didn’t think her year in the US was going to be that fun, but my friends and I made it the best year ever.]

Goals/task commitment: Articulate the goals you have established for yourself and your efforts to accomplish them. Give at least one specific example that demonstrates your work ethic/diligence

    [My dream is to go over to Japan and teach, there is a second part to my dream; during the Japanese summer do archaeological work in Israel. Last year I made a step to accomplishing this. I went about asking family and friends for things to do or just donations. I ended up collecting enough money to go to Israel and work on the Khirbet Qeiyafa 2010 project. 3 weeks abroad in the dirt working hard, it was a dream come true and it did nothing but just inspire me to do more go back and dig more.]

About Hakarune

Trying live life on my terms now I love to travel and have been to a lot of the US, and want to see the whole world and learn every language I can.... I love humor and sarcasm and use them both all the time, to the point where some people hate me for it, but as they say "Like Father Like Son." My dad is awesome and I love him, I missed not having him around when I was growing up, but now I'm making up for lost time. My dad is like my best friend and is like me, just older and not as hansom. Though I've been called worse than him cause I don't filter what I say (at all) and I'm blunt, honest, and speak exactly what I think as well as am a sarcastic ass to the point of occasionally offending people without meaning to, but that's life. Live it and get over it, and make the best of what time you got, don't sweat the small things. View all posts by Hakarune

5 responses to “WSU Application Responses

  • Lanita Raske

    whoah this weblog is wonderful i love reading your posts. Keep up the good paintings! You recognize, a lot of persons are looking round for this information, you can aid them greatly.

  • Diety

    Hmm is anyone else having problems with the images on this blog loading? I’m trying to figure out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

  • Wes Granderson

    Read was interesting, stay in touch……

  • myp2p sports virus

    Excellent read, I just passed this onto a friend who was doing a little research on that. And he actually bought me lunch as I found it for him smile Therefore let me rephrase that: Thank you for lunch! “Dreams are real while they last. Can we say more of life” by Henry Havelock Ellis.

Leave a Reply

