on Jan 16 @Facebook & @Instagram will own & sell your name, likeness, all photos, and more; #DeleteInstagram



Jesse Wojdylo started the: Unofficial Delete Your Instagram Account Grassroots Program

 

Today Instagram unleashed brand-new terms of service, and they are not good ones. They have decided that they are going to use you to make money and pay you nothing…

 

New Instagram ToS: “you agree that a business … may pay us to display your photos in connection with paid or sponsored content … without any compensation to you. “

Some or all of the Service may be supported by advertising revenue. To help us deliver interesting paid or sponsored content or promotions, you agree that a business or other entity may pay us to display your username, likeness, photos (along with any associated metadata), and/or actions you take, in connection with paid or sponsored content or promotions, without any compensation to you.

http://instagram.com/about/legal/terms/updated/

 

What to do:

First you’ll want to download all of your photos. Instaport will download your entire Instagram photo library in just a few minutes. Currently the service only offers a zip file download of your photos, then you have all your photos to yourself to put in a new place (Facebook, Picasa, Flickr, Streamzoon, etc…)

 

After you’ve removed your photos from Instagram, you can quickly delete your account 


Now What?:

Many people probably are thinking, okay, now how do I share and store my photos? Honestly, there’s a lot of sites that you can store your photos on; Flickr, Facebook, PhotobucketShutterflyDropbox, and SkyDrive, and others, but my personal favorite is Picasa. Picasa has seamless integration into all that is Google (G+, Blogger, emails, Drive, etc…), hence why I like it, but there isn’t a “Share All”/”Share to Facebook”/”Share to twitter” type of button (there should be though).

But most people want to be able to share to Facebook, Twitter, etc and all at once. The best app I know are EyeEm and Streamzoo, but there are others. Streamzoo is a lot like a mixture between foursquare and Instagram. It also has all the photo ability of Instagram (but more) and also has a point and contest/awards system too.

 

 

About Hakarune

Trying live life on my terms now I love to travel and have been to a lot of the US, and want to see the whole world and learn every language I can.... I love humor and sarcasm and use them both all the time, to the point where some people hate me for it, but as they say "Like Father Like Son." My dad is awesome and I love him, I missed not having him around when I was growing up, but now I'm making up for lost time. My dad is like my best friend and is like me, just older and not as hansom. Though I've been called worse than him cause I don't filter what I say (at all) and I'm blunt, honest, and speak exactly what I think as well as am a sarcastic ass to the point of occasionally offending people without meaning to, but that's life. Live it and get over it, and make the best of what time you got, don't sweat the small things. View all posts by Hakarune

Leave a Reply

